Français Text Size S | M | L Printer-friendly Search
Board Documents
For Board of Directors use only
Beals Award
The Carlyle S. Beals Award was established by CASCA in 1981 in recognition of the groundbreaking researches of the late C.S. Beals. The Beals Prize was originally awarded to provide a grant for travel to a General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union (every three years). In 1988, however, it was first awarded in its present form: to a Canadian astronomer or an astronomer working in Canada, in recognition of outstanding achievement in research (either as a specific achievement or as a lifetime of research). The recipient shall be invited to address the Society at its Annual Meeting.

An award is now considered every second year, in even-numbered years. The nomination package must consist of a joint letter of nomination by at least two members of CASCA, the CV of the candidate, and three external letters of support (e.g., from international experts in the nominee's field). No letter should exceed three pages in length. No other material should be submitted. Please submit nomination packages entirely in electronic form to the Chair of the Awards committee. The deadline for submissions for the 2014 award is 15 January 2014.


Recipients prior to 1988 were:

1982John B. Hutchings
1985Anne B. Underhill

Recipients since 1988 have been:

1988Sidney van den Bergh"Supernovae and their Remnants"
1990Scott Tremaine"Is the Solar System Stable?"
1992Rene Racine"Support for Astronomy"
1994Peter G. Martin "Interstellar Pinball: A Sometimes Shocking Story of Excited Molecular Hydrogen"
1996 J. Richard Bond"Cosmic Background Anisotropies and Large Scale Structure: Past, Present and Future"
1998Gordon A. H. Walker"Challenges for the New Millennium: Some Persistent Astronomical Mysteries"
2000Gilles Fontaine"The Potential of White Dwarf Cosmochronology"
2002John Landstreet"Magnetic Fields in Stars"
2004Ernest R. Seaquist “The Galaxy M82 - a Rosetta Stone for the Starburst Phenomenon”
2006Georges Michaud "Atomic Diffusion in Pop II Stars, Globular Clusters and WMAP"
2008Ray Carlberg "Preliminary SNLS Third Year Results"
2010Bill Harris "Between Galaxies and Stars"
2012 David Crampton "Carpe Lux. Beal’s Lecture 2012"

[ Back to the Awards Page ]